Prêt pour
l'aventure?

Presentation des epaves de Coron

L’Irako

A propos de l’Irako

L’Irako était un navire frigorifique japonais de 9723 tonnes, 149,6 mètres de long, et 19 mètres de large. Il était équipé de deux turbines à vapeur (8 300 shp) et était propulsé par deux hélices. Il pouvait se déplacer à une vitesse maximale de 17,5 nœuds et transporter plus de deux semaines de vivres pour 25 000 membres d’équipage.


L’Irako est considéré comme le meilleur site de plongée sur épave aux Philippines par de nombreux plongeurs à travers le monde. Même si aujourd’hui il repose en eau profonde, L’Irako reste remarquablement intact. Il a souffert des bombardements principalement au niveau du pont, ce qui l’a conduit au fond de l’océan. A présent, le navire repose à l’entrée de la baie de Coron (N 11° 58. 059' et E 120° 02. 412') et se tient droit, à l’exception du pont.


Que peut-on y observer?

Le site de l’Irako jouit d’une très bonne visibilité. Une fois près de l’épave, les plongeurs peuvent rencontrer des bancs de thons jaunes. Plusieurs variétés de rascasses se baladent autour de l’épave, et le site se veut l’habitat de tortues de mer et de serpents marins.


Si vous plongez entre 10h du matin et 2h de l’après-midi par un jour ensoleillé, il est possible de voir les rayons de soleil pénétrer le navire et se sentir ainsi à l’intérieur d’une cathédrale. Les deux énormes chaudières au milieu du navire attirent les plongeurs. Une fois que vous les dépassez, vous pouvez voir la partie endommagée par les bombardements.


Vous pouvez aussi vous aventurer dans la pièce de transmission, le côté tribord, la passerelle et les cuisines.



L’Okikawa Maru

A propos de l’Okikawa Maru

L’Okikawa Maru était un pétrolier japonais d’à peu près 170 mètres de long. C’est la plus grande épave de Coron en termes de longueur, largeur, et volume. A présent, l’Okikawa Maru se trouve au fond de l’océan (N 12° 1.128' et E 119° 58. 176').


Que peut-on y observer?

L’épave de l’Okikawa Maru est désormais recouverte d’un magnifique corail. Plusieurs spécimens marins peuvent être observés sur le site du vieux pétrolier. Selon les plongeurs, si l’Irako n’est pas la plus belle épave au fond de l’océan à Coron, c’est alors sans aucun doute l’Okikawa Maru qui l’est. Vous pouvez jouer avec les bancs de poissons multicolores à l’intérieur et autour du navire. A l’avant, vous pouvez observer diverses espèces dont des vivaneaux et des poissons-chauve souris.



L’Akitsushima

A propos de l’Akitsushima

L’Akitshushima était le seul transport d’hydravions qui ait coulé dans la baie de Coron. Le bombardement a fendu en deux l’immense vaisseau de 118 mètres de long et 15,7 mètres de large au devant de la salle des machines. L’Akitsushima était propulsé par deux hélices alimentées par quatre moteurs diesel permettant au navire d’atteindre une vitesse maximum de 19 nœuds. Le vaisseau de guerre gît désormais sur son côté bâbord (N 11° 59. 218' et E 119° 58. 417'), entre les îles Culion et Busuanga.


L’Akitsushima, ce célèbre bâtiment de guerre de l’armée japonaise, était armé de dix canons anti-aérien de 25mm, quatre canons de 127 mm (calibre 50), et un immense hydravion à coque Kanwanishi. Touché, l’hydravion disparut et ne fut plus jamais revu. La grue utilisée pour soulever l’hydravion est encore intacte.


Que peut-on y observer?

L’Akitsushima ayant été un transport d’hydravions, il y a d’autres choses à voir en plus de la grande variété d’espèces aquatiques qui peut être observée sur le site (vivaneaux, mérous, poissons-chauve souris, crevettes, thons jaunes). Vous pouvez voir la grue, encore intacte, qui attire des bancs de barracudas et de grands poissons-chauve souris.


A l’avant de l’immense Akitsushima se trouve le dispositif d’un imposant canon antiaérien. La salle des machines et ses immenses moteurs au repos sont à voir absolument.



Le Kogyo Maru

A propos du Kogyo Maru

Autrefois un navire japonais transportant des matériaux de construction, le Kogyo Maru repose maintenant sur son côté tribord par 34 mètres de fond. Il transportait du matériel destiné à la construction d’une piste d’envol dans le contexte de l’effort de guerre dans le Pacifique. De 129 mètres de long et 18 mètres de large, le Kogyo Maru pesait 6353 tonnes et était propulsé par deux turbines à essence. Coordonnées géographiques : N 11° 58. 782' et E 120° 02. 413'.


Que peut-on y observer?

Plusieurs choses peuvent être observées sur ce site. Vous pouvez visiter les 6 cales du navire ainsi que la salle des machines et le pont. Des sacs de ciments que transportait le Kogyo Maru se sont répandus dans la deuxième cale du bateau. Avancez un peu plus et vous pouvez apercevoir un petit bulldozer, un compresseur d’air, et un tracteur. Les roues de métal du tracteur sont même intactes ! Si vous continuez dans cette direction, vous arrivez alors à la vaste salle des machines.


Une fois que vous aurez fini d’inspecter ces machines historiques, vous aurez alors tout le loisir d’observer les splendides coraux. Vous croiserez des barracudas et d’autres espèces colorées, mais aussi des poissons-ballons, poissons-papillons, poissons-rasoirs, et carangues.



Le canonnier de Lusong

A propos du canonnier

Il s’agit de l’épave d’un canonnier et patrouilleur anti sous-marins de 35 mètres de long. Il se trouve actuellement sur la côte est de l’île de Lusong (N 11° 58. 260' et E 120° 01. 447'). La poupe fend la surface de l’eau à marée basse.


Que peut-on y observer?

L’épave de Lusong est désormais un endroit idéal pour la randonnée subaquatique. L’épave est recouverte d’un beau corail dur et attire donc une grande variété d’espèces marines. C’est un endroit couru par les photographes d’épaves.



L’Olympia Maru

A propos de l’Olympia Maru

Ce cargo japonais de 5612 tonnes, 122 mètres de long, et 17 mètres de large a coulé au large et repose droit sous 30 mètres d’eau. Il est situé près de l’île de Sangat dans la baie de Coron (N 11° 58. 291' et E 120° 03. 707').


Que peut-on y observer?

Il est facile d’accéder aux cales marchandises et il y a pas mal de chose à observer.


On peut observer des bancs de fusiliers, poissons-chauve souris, et poissons-ballons à l’avant et à l’arrière du bateau ainsi qu’autour du mât. La vie aquatique y est plus variée, on peut y rencontrer des poissons-crocodiles et des rascasses. Les plongeurs trouvent souvent des choses intéressantes autour de l’Olympia Maru.



Le Morazaan Maru

A propos du Morazaan Maru

Navire japonais de 140 mètres de long, le Morazaan Maru repose sur le fond marin près de Coron. C’est lors du récent réexamen du navire que l’on a pu confirmer qu’il s’agissait bien du Morazaan Maru. Il a pendant longtemps été confondu avec l’Olympia Maru.


Que peut-on y observer?

Le Morazaan Maru est désormais revêtu d’un épais manteau de corail. C’est un incroyable spectacle pour les plongeurs. L’accès aux cales marchandises et à la salle des machines est aisé. Si vous êtes attentif, vous y verrez pas mal de choses.


Les rascasses fréquentent régulièrement l’épave. A part elles, on peut tomber sur des gaterins arlequins, des serpents marins, des mérous, et des tortues qui se promènent souvent près du site.



Le chasseur de sous-marins de Sangat

A propos du navire

Le chasseur se sous-marins repose maintenant du côté est de l’île de Sangat.


Que peut-on y observer?

Ce chasseur de sous-marins est un merveilleux site d’épave pour les plongeurs débutants et amateurs. Pour des raisons évidentes, ce site est le coin rêvé pour un photographe de plongée. L’épave est également un site populaire pour faire de la randonnée subaquatique.



Le Nanshin Maru

A propos du Nanshin Maru

Le Nanshin Maru, d’une longueur de 50 mètres, est aussi connu comme « l’Epave de l’île noire ». Il se tient droit sur le fond sablonneux de l’océan. C’était un petit pétrolier transportant également du diesel, de l’huile de graissage, du gaz, etc…


Que peut-on y observer?

Rascasses, rascasses volantes, trompettes tachetées, poissons-chauve souris, et mérous se promènent habituellement sur ce site. C’est un bel endroit pour les photographes, accessible même aux débutants.


Le Nanshin Maru est situé à environ 3 heures et demi de Coron. En raison de son éloignement, cette épave n’est envisagée que sur requête des plongeurs. C’est une sortie qui prend une journée entière, et il faut partir tôt le matin pour pouvoir explorer l’épave.



Le Kyoguzan Maru

A propos du Kyoguzan Maru

Le Kyoguzan Maru s’étend entre 160 et 180 mètres et pèse autour de 5000 tonnes. Le bâtiment est encore presque intact.


Que peut-on y observer?

Il y a une bonne visibilité sur le site du Kyoguzan et, bonne nouvelle pour les débutants, les conditions de plongée y sont idéales! Le navire contient toujours les véhicules du personnel japonais dans sa cale. C’est un site de plongée très agréable.


L’épave est également un peu loin de Coron, mais sur requête spéciale, la sortie vers ce site merveilleux peut être organisée.

Ready for
ADVENTURE?

A Brief Account of Coron Wreck Dive Sites

Irako Wreck

A bit about Irako

The mighty Irako was a Japanese ship that weighed 9723 tons. 149.6 metres in length and 19 metres in width, Irako was a ship that Japanese used for refrigerate. She had two steam powered geared turbines, 8300 ship, and drove twin propellers. Irako could sail at a maximum speed of 17.5 knots. Irako could carry supplies for 25, 000 sea men for over two weeks.


Irako is considered to be the best wreck dive site in Philippines, by a lot of wreck divers in the world. Even today, under the deep sea, Irako stands quite intact. Irako suffered bombings mainly in her bridge-section which caused her to go to rest beneath the sea. At present Irako lies at the mouth of the Coron Bay, at N 11° 58. 059' and E 120° 02. 412'. Irako stands upright except the bridge area.


What can you see in and around Irako?

Irako boasts a good visibility. Once near her, wreck divers can come across schools of yellow fin, and tuna fish. Lion fish and scorpion fish also play around the wreck of Irako. It is also the homeground to sea turtles, and sea snakes.


If you are diving between 10 am to 2 pm, on a bright and sunny day, you could see the solar beams entering the vessel, creating an effect like in a cathedral. Two giant boilers in the middle of the ship, is also a great attraction for the divers. Once you pass the boilers, you can see the damage area of the ship that occurred due to bombings.


You could also venture into the Transmission room, starboard side, work station, and kitchen room.



Okikawa Maru Wreck

A bit about Okikawa Maru

The Okikawa Maru was a Japanese oil tanker, which was about 170 metres in length. It is the largest in terms of length, width and volume among all the other Coron wrecks. At present the Okikawa Maru lies at N 12° 1.128' and E 119° 58. 176'.


What can you see in and around Okikawa Maru?

Okikawa Maru, is now covered with beautiful bunch of coral reefs. Besides, a number of marine species can be seen in and around the age old tanker. Divers argue that if it is not the Irako, it is Okikawa Maru which is the most beautiful ship lying at the sea bed near Coron. You can play around with the shoals of colourful fish, in and around the wrecks of Okikawa Maru. At the bow of the hulk, you can see snappers and bat fish among many other species.



Akitsushima wreck

A bit about Akitsushima

Akitshushima was the only seaplane maintenance ship that went under water in Coron Bay. The bombardment split the huge vessel of 118 metres long and 15.7 metres width in two in the front of the engine room. Akitsushima was powered by four engines run by diesel. The engines drove twin propellers that could let the war ship sail at a maximum speed of 19 knots. The war vessel now lies on her port side, at N 11° 59. 218' and E 119° 58. 417', between Culion and Busuanga Islands.


Akitsushima, the mighty Japanese war ship, was armed with ten 25mm anti-aircraft guns; four 5 inch (50 cal) guns and one huge Kanwanishi flying boat. After it was hit, the flying boat disappeared and was not to be seen again. The crane used for lifting up the war vessel is in one piece.


What can you see in and around Akitsushima?

There is a lot more to see in and around Akitsushima than just a variety of marine species like – snappers, groupers, batfishes, shrimps, and yellow fin tuna, because it was a sea plane maintenance carrier. You can see the crane, which is still intact and now attracts schools of barracudas and giant batfish.


At the front of the boat tracks of the huge Akitsushima, one can see the mounting of a 3-barreled AA gun. The engine room, with the giant engines at rest, is a great attraction of the Akitsushima.



Kogyo Maru Wreck

A bit about Kogyo Maru

Once a Japanese ship that would carry construction materials, now Kogyo Maru lies on her starboard side at 34 metres. She was carrying materials with which the Japanese planned to build a runway for the war effort in the Pacific. 129 metres in length and 18 metres in widh, Kogyo Maru weighed 6353 tons. Powered by two oil fuelled steam turbines, now, the vessel sleeps at N 11° 58. 782' and E 120° 02. 413'.


What can you see in and around Kogyo Maru?

You can see a number of things while you are at Kogyo Maru. You can swim through into all the 6 holds, and also through the engine room and the bridge area. The second hold of the vessel has toppled cement bags that Kogyo Maru was carrying with her. Move a little forward and you get to see a small bulldozer. There are also an air compressor and a tractor. Even the metal wheels are intact of the tractor. As you keep on swimming, you come to the vast and dumped engine room.


Once done with the mighty machines you can look around for the beautiful corals. Barracudas and other species of colourful fishes are likely to pass by you. You can also see giant puffer fishes, banner fishes, razor fishes and trevallies.



Lusong Gunboat

A bit about Lusong

Lusong is a gunboat or a submarine hunter, which was 35 metres in length. It is presently located at N 11° 58. 260' and E 120° 01. 447', at the eastern side of the Lusong Island. The stern breaks the water surface at the time of low tide.


What can you see in and around Lusong?

Lusong gunboat wreck is now a great place for snorkelling. It is now covered with beautiful hard corals and thus attracting a variety of marine fishes. Lusong is a favourite place for wreck photographers.



Olympia Maru Wreck

A bit about Olympia Maru

The Japanese Freighter which was 122 metres in length and 17 metres in width sank down in the deep sea and rests there in an upright position in about 30 metres of water. A ship of 5612 tons, it is now located near Sangat Island in Coron Bay, at N 11° 58. 291' and E 120° 03. 707'.


What can you see in and around Olympia Maru?

Easy penetration at the cargo rooms of the Olympia Maru is possible, and there are quite a few things to look around there.


Shoals of banana fish, giant bat fish and puffer fish can be seen around the stern, mast and the bow. The marine life is more diverse here. Crocodile fish and scorpion fish can also be found here. Divers often get to see interesting things around Olympia Maru.



Morazaan Maru Wreck

A bit about Morazaan Maru

A Japanese ship of about 140 metres now lies on the sea bed near Coron. It is a recent re-examination of this ship that has ascertained it as Morazaan Maru. Earlier, it was mistaken as Olympia Maru.


What can you see in and around Morazaan Maru?

Morazaan Maru is now a hard coral mantle. This is a wonderful sight for the divers. There is easy penetration in the huge cargo compartments and the engine room. Keeping your eyes open would reveal a number of things in this wreck.


Scorpion fishes frequent the wreck of Morazaan Maru. Apart from them, sweet lips, sea snakes, giant groupers and turtles can also be spotted near this wreck.



Sangat Sub Chaser

A bit about the Sangat Sub Chaser

The Sangat Sub Chaser is now reposed on the eastern side of Sangat Island.


What can you see in and around Sangat Sub Chaser?

The Sangat Sub Chaser is a wonderful wreck diving site for amateurs and beginners. A dive photographer would love to be here for obvious reasons. Sangat Sub Chaser site is a popular dive site for enjoying snorkelling too.



Nanshin Maru Wreck

A bit about Nanshin Maru

Nanshin Maru is known as “Black Island Wreck” was 50 metres long. It sits upright on the sandy bed of the sea. Nanshin Maru was a small tanker that would carry diesel, lube oil, gasoline etc.


What can you see in and around Nanshin Maru?

Scorpion fish, lion fish, trumpet fish, bat fish and groupers are common at the Nanshin Maru wreck. It is a lovely wreck spot for the diver photographers to go on shooting. It is a wreck that even beginners can try diving into.


Nanshin Maru is located about 3.5 hours from Coron. For the long distance of this wreck from Coron, Nanshin Maru is only covered when divers request for it. It is a day’s dive and you have to depart early in the morning in order to explore the wreck.



Kyoguzan Maru Wreck

A bit about Kyoguzan Maru

Kyoguzan Maru which stretched approximately from 160 to 180 metres, weighed about 5000 tons. The ship is still almost intact.


What can you see in and around Kyoguzan Maru?

Kyoguzan offers good visibility, and has ideal diving conditions, which is a piece of good news for the beginners. The ship still has the Japanese staff cars and trucks in the cargo room. Kyoguzan is a charming wreck site for the divers.


Kyoguzan wreck is also located a bit far from Coron, but on special requests by the divers, the wreck dive to this beautiful wreck can be arranged.